Join Us This Fall!

Here at Havaya, these past months have reminded us time and again that we’re so much more than a summer camp. We’re a community in the truest sense of the word — bringing people together to share meaningful experiences, form deep connections, and lift each other up. (And, of course, have some fun while we’re doing it!) As we look to the year ahead, we know that the strength of this community is what will get many of us through these challenging times.

With all this in mind, we wanted to share with you our plans for the next few months. As you’ll see below, we’re excited to offer opportunities to celebrate the High Holidays, to connect with camp friends, and to learn and explore together as families. These programs are free and open to the community, so please feel free to invite your friends and family … especially those who may be interested in the Havaya experience.

 

September

 

Selikhot: A Family Experience

Saturday, September 12

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

“Is it too late now to say sorry….” Yup. We did it. We quoted Justin Bieber. 5780 / 2020 has been that kind of year! Apologizing doesn’t have to be anything but heartfelt. As we dive into this reflective time of year, find ways to say you’re sorry – and to accept apologies with grace. Because it’s never too late to say sorry….

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Rosh Hashanah: Family Service

Sunday, September 20

4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT / 2:00 pm MT / 1:00 pm PT

Join us on the second day of Rosh Hashanah for a creative way to start the new year. We’ll look backwards and forwards, and inwards and outwards, as we sing and share together. Bring paper, washable markers, and some water if you’d like the “hands on” experience. 

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Yom Kippur: Stories for Kids and Families

Monday, September 28

4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT / 2:00 pm MT / 1:00 pm PT

Stories help us understand ourselves and others. On this day of introspection, join us for some family-friendly stories to feed your soul.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

October

 

Sukkot: Apples, Apples, Apples!

Week of October 4

Dipping apples in honey for Rosh Hashanah. Making candy apples for Simkhat Torah. Perfecting our applesauce before it’s time for Hanukkah latkes. Check us out on Facebook for some of our favorite apple recipes.

Join us on Facebook.

 

Simkhat Torah: Fun for All

Sunday, October 11

2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT / 12:00 pm MT / 11:00 am PT 

“Joy of Torah” is what this holiday actually means … so let’s share the Havaya JOY! What better way than with a party, Havaya style? Kids and adults are invited to join us as, together, we’ll play games, hear stories, and share some new traditions from around the world.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Our Civic Duty

Tuesday, October 13 

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to work on a political campaign? Hear from camp alumni about their experiences supporting candidates, getting out the vote, and standing up for their values.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

College Connections

Wednesday, October 14

9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT / 7:00 pm MT / 6:00 pm PT

The camp connection doesn’t end when you graduate high school. Gather (virtually) with other college-age alumni just to catch up and reconnect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

BIPOC Hangout (grades 3-7)

Wednesday, October 21

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

Join other BIPOC campers and friends for a chance to check-in and connect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

BIPOC Hangout (grades 8-11)

Wednesday, October 21

8:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm CT / 6:00 pm MT / 5:00 pm PT

Join other BIPOC campers and friends for a chance to check-in and connect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

November

 

Virtual Parlor Meeting

Sunday, November 1

1:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm CT / 11:00 am MT / 10:00 am PT

Do you have friends whose kids would be a perfect fit for Camp Havaya? Invite them to join us for this low-pressure opportunity to learn more about what makes us so special. This gathering will be geared primarily to families from the DMV (DC, Maryland, and Virginia), but all are welcome!

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Schmooze with Sheira

Friday, November 6

6:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm CT / 4:30 pm MT / 3:30 pm PT

Spend half-an-hour catching up and chatting with our Camp Director, Sheira Director-Nowack. 

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Kabbalat Shabbat

Friday, November 6

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

Join us as we welcome Shabbat with singing, sharing, and a story. No experience necessary!

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

College Connections

Wednesday, November 11

9:00 pm ET / 8:00 pm CT / 7:00 pm MT / 6:00 pm PT

The camp connection doesn’t end when you graduate high school. Gather (virtually) with other college-age alumni just to catch up and reconnect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

LGBTQIA+ Hangout

Wednesday, November 18

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

For campers who identify as LGBTQIA+, this is a chance to check-in and connect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Family Program: Thanksgiving

Sunday, November 22

4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT / 2:00 pm MT / 1:00 pm PT

What’s Jewish about giving thanks? Join us for this hands-on, experiential program for 3rd – 8th graders and their parents as, together, we explore ways to cultivate an attitude of gratitude.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

December

 

Schmooze with Sheira

Friday, December 4

6:30 pm ET / 5:30 pm CT / 4:30 pm MT / 3:30 pm PT

Spend half-an-hour catching up and chatting with our Camp Director, Sheira Director-Nowack.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Kabbalat Shabbat

Friday, December 4

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

Join us as we welcome Shabbat with singing, sharing, and a story. No experience necessary!

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Virtual Parlor Meeting

Sunday, December 6

1:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm CT / 11:00 am MT / 10:00 am PT

Do you have friends whose kids would be a perfect fit for Camp Havaya? Invite them to join us for this low-pressure opportunity to learn more about what makes us so special. This gathering will be geared primarily to families from New York and New Jersey, but all are welcome!

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Exploring Israel

Tuesday, December 8 

8:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm CT / 6:00 pm MT / 5:00 pm PT

Are you interested in what’s going on in Israel? This interactive session is designed for high school students who want to learn, explore, and discuss. 

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

Family Program: Winter Holidays

Sunday, December 13 

4:00 pm ET / 3:00 pm CT / 2:00 pm MT / 1:00 pm PT

Especially at this time of the year, it’s easy to see the wonderful array of holidays our families and friends celebrate. Together with other 3rd – 8th graders and their parents, we’ll explore ways to make this time of year even more meaningful.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

BIPOC Hangout (grades 3-7)

Wednesday, December 16

7:00 pm ET / 6:00 pm CT / 5:00 pm MT / 4:00 pm PT

Join other BIPOC campers and friends for a chance to check-in and connect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

BIPOC Hangout (grades 8-11)

Wednesday, December 16

8:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm CT / 6:00 pm MT / 5:00 pm PT

Join other BIPOC campers and friends for a chance to check-in and connect.

Sign-up to join us on Zoom.

 

An Important Note for Adults

We pride ourselves on creating welcoming, inclusive, values-based, and celebratory communities in each of our Havaya Summer Programs. This is possible only with a high level of hands-on supervision that is simply impossible in an online setting. Please note that all supervision responsibilities for individual participants during Havaya@Home sessions fall to those children’s parents or legal guardians. Similarly, parents are responsible for their child’s physical safety and cyber-security; we cannot guarantee the security or efficacy of Zoom, Facebook, or other online platforms that may be used during the course of the program. All live sessions will be recorded; participation in a session signifies the parent or legal guardian’s understanding and approval that photographs, video, or likenesses of their child may be used for promotional purposes. More details on our terms and conditions are available online. As with our in-person programs, we expect participants to stand up for themselves and their friends and take responsibility for their actions; we will not accept behaviors such as bullying, violence, repeated profanity, disrespect, or bigotry. We’re serious about being our best selves—it’s How We Be!

Camp JRF is now Camp Havaya.

Worry not! We have a new name but, deep down, we’re still the same incredibly diverse and welcoming community where kids explore Judaism in their own ways and become the best versions of themselves.

Learn more about why we chose this name or click through to visit our website. Either way, we can’t wait to welcome you to Camp Havaya this summer!